OSU and Ohio Wesleyan celebrate the 1890 Game

OSU and Ohio Wesleyan celebrate the 1890 Game

Ohio Wesleyan

OSU and Ohio Wesleyan celebrate the 1890 Game

Representatives of both schools involved in the historic May 3, 1890 game gathered Saturday to celebrate a historic game and dedicate a historical marker on the OWU campus commemorating both schools’ first football game. 

By Bill Smith

    That game, won by the Buckeyes, began two traditions that have brought over a century of excitement to the fans of both schools.

Photo by Jeff Bates/courtesy of Ohio Wesleyan and NCAA.ORG

Bill Smith is a former coach of several semi-pro teams and has scouted talent. He is a senior writer for http://BrutusReport.com. He has also published several novels on http://ebooks-library.com/index.cfm and edits http://fryingpanpolitics.blog.com

BrutusReport.com
Tags: Football NCAA Ohio State
print





blog comments powered by Disqus

Ohio State 2020 Football Schedule


Thu Sep 2
Minnesota
at
Minnesota Minneapolis, Minn.

W 45-31



Sat Sep 11
Ohio State Buckeyes
vs.
Oregon Columbus, Ohio

L 28-35



Sat Sep 18
Ohio State Buckeyes
vs.
Tulsa Columbus, Ohio

W 41-20



Sat Sep 25
Akron
vs.
Akron Columbus, Ohio

W 59-7



Sat Oct 2
Rutgers
at
Rutgers Piscataway, N.J.

W 52-13



Sat Oct 9
Maryland
vs.
Maryland Columbus, Ohio

W 66-17



Sat Oct 23
Indiana
at
Indiana Bloomington, Ind.

W 54-7



Sat Oct 30
Ohio State Buckeyes
vs.
Penn State Columbus, Ohio

7:30 pm
ABC
Tickets



Sat Nov 6
Ohio State Buckeyes
at
Nebraska Lincoln, Neb.

TBA
Tickets



Sat Nov 13
Purdue
vs.
Purdue Columbus, Ohio

TBA
Tickets



Sat Nov 20
Michigan State
vs.
Michigan State Columbus, Ohio

TBA
Tickets



Sat Nov 27
Michigan
at
Michigan Ann Arbor, Mich.

12:00 pm
Tickets